Roads built over new routes that cross through multiple cities are known as expressways. There are two or more lanes in each direction on these important split roadways.

Because no road crosses or merges with it, cars are only allowed to enter through a limited number of points. This reduces the number of accidents and traffic congestion. Drivers and motorists can also benefit from greater convenience, safety, and comfort while traveling at a higher speed.

Taking the expressway is the most convenient method to get out of the city and head to the surrounding provinces, whether you want to go on holiday, visit family, or travel for work. Your travel will be more picturesque, quick, and hassle-free if you take expressways. Here’s a comprehensive overview of the Philippines’ several expressways.

Image from

List of Expressways in the Philippines

Here are the different expressways in the country:

  • NLEX – North Luzon Expressway
  • SCTEX – Subic-Clark-Tarlac Expressway
  • NLEX Harbor Link
  • SFEX – Subic Freeport Expressway
  • TPLEX – Tarlac-Pangasinan-La Union Expressway
  • SLEX – South Luzon Expressway
  • MCX – Muntinlupa-Cavite Expressway
  • CALAX – Cavite–Laguna Expressway
  • CAVITEX – Manila–Cavite Expressway
  • Metro Manila Skyway
  • STAR Tollway – Southern Tagalog Arterial Road
  • NAIAX – Ninoy Aquino International Airport Expressway
  • CLLEX – Central Luzon Link Expressway


New expressways being built: 

  • CCLEX – Cebu-Cordova Link Expressway (Visayas)

Image from

  • NLEE – North Luzon East Expressway

Image from

  • SEMME – Southeast Metro Manila Expressway

Image from

In the Philippines, vehicles are classified

If you’ve ever driven on the highway, you’ve likely come across Class 1, Class 2, and Class 3.

When approaching or exiting an expressway, keep these categories in mind because the higher the class, the greater the toll price because larger cars have a higher risk of damaging the road.

But what is the distinction between the three types of vehicles?


Class 1

This category includes the majority of self-driving vehicles that are often seen on the expressway. Class 1 vehicles, according to the Toll Regulatory Board, have a maximum of two axles and an overall height of 2,286mm (7.5ft). Sedans, SUVs, motorbikes with a displacement of 400cc or more, and various coupes are classified as Class 1.

Because it meets the height criterion, high-roof vans like Hi-Ace are likewise designated as Class 1. If you have other high-roof van types, make careful to check their height before entering the freeway, as some vehicles, like the Hyundai H350, are classified as Class 2.

What about SUVs with bikes or bags on the roof? SUVs are already extremely tall, but adding cargo raises the height to over 7.5 feet. In light of this, you may still be assessed a class 2 fee due to your excessive height. When purchasing roof racks for tall automobile models, keep this in mind. If at all possible, use a rack on the back of your car rather than the top.

Class 2

Class 2 vehicles, according to the TRB, have two axles and a height of greater than 2,286mm (7.5ft). This category includes trucks and higher vehicles, as well as buses, which have only two axles.

If a trailer is mounted to a Class 1 vehicle, it is possible that it will be classified as a size 2. It makes no difference how little the trailer is. It’s classified as a class 2 vehicle because it has an extra pair of wheels. When compared to class 1 automobiles, this class is normally charged twice as much.

Class 3

What do you believe is categorized as Class 3 if huge buses are still designated Class 2? Class 3 trucks, according to the TRB, have three or more axles and a height of greater than 2,286mm. or 7.5 feet

This category includes large trucks and trailers. This includes vehicles with three axles or six wheels or more, such as 10-wheel wing vans, tanker trucks, dump trucks, tow trucks, and other vehicles with three axles or six wheels or more. 

While the majority of people do not pay attention to this subject, it is critical for those who work in the trucking industry.


The North Luzon Expressway, or NLEX, connects Metro Manila to provinces in the Philippines’ Central Luzon region. At the Balintawak Interchange in Quezon City, it begins as a four-lane road.

Through the Mabalacat Interchange, NLEX connects to the Subic-Clark-Tarlac Expressway, or SCTEX. The SCTEX southern end starts in Zambales’ Subway Bay Freeport and runs through the Clark Freeport Zone. Because Subic is one of the most popular tourist destinations, this roadway is essential.

The Subic Freeport Expressway (SFEX) connects SCTEX to the Subic Freeport Zone. It was previously known as the Subic-Tipo Expressway and North Luzon Expressway Segment 7. It passes through Bataan and Zambales.

The North Luzon Expressway Harbor Link Project, often known as NLEX Harbor Link, is a North Luzon Expressway extension that intends to connect NLEX to the Port of Manila. It also attempts to reduce traffic congestion on EDSA by assisting business vehicles bringing commodities to Metro Manila in reducing turnaround times.

  • The NLEX is 84 kilometers long.
  • SCTEX is 93.77 kilometers long.
  • The SFEX is 8.8 kilometers long.
  • The NLEX Harbor Link is 28.85 kilometers long.
  • The following are the entrances and exits (NLEX-SCTEX Integrated entrances and exits)


Places from NLEX TO SCTEX(Vice Versa)

  • Balintawak
  • Mindanao avenue
  • Karuhatan
  • Valenzuela
  • Meycauayan
  • Marilao
  • Ciudad de Victoria
  • Bocaue
  • Tambubong
  • Balagtas
  • Tabang
  • Sta. Rita 
  • Pulilan
  • San Simon
  • San Fernando
  • Mexico
  • Angeles
  • Dau
  • Sta. Ines
  • Clark South
  • Porac
  • Floridablanca
  • Dinalupihan
  • Subic (SFEX/Tipo)
  • Mabiga
  • Clark North
  • Dolores
  • New Clark City
  • Concepcion
  • San Miguel 
  • Tarlac 


What is the RFID minimum balance?

Although there is no minimum balance for RFID, it is preferable to have a high balance to avoid difficulties. Per RFID, a minimum balance of Php1,000 is recommended. This is plenty to cover a long road trip or unintentional multiple deductions.


Is it possible to move your RFID to a different vehicle?

No. Each RFID tag is specific to the customer and vehicle that has been registered. Those who no longer wish to use their tag must contact the Touch ‘n Go Careline to cancel it.


Read also: Philippine Insurance and Bridges